Dear Prospective Applicant,

Thank you for your interest in our Multidisciplinary Pain Medicine Fellowship Program. We are proud and thrilled to offer one of a kind, ACGME accredited, multidisciplinary pain fellowship that will allow our graduates to be eligible for board certification in Pain Medicine.

Doctors wearing protective radiation gear observing a procedureAs the first and only pain medicine fellowship in the state of Arkansas, we aim to serve the mission of University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) in improving the health, health care, and well being of Arkansans as well as the rest of the world through medical education. As the leading tertiary referral center for the state, we provide care to a diverse and complex patient population from the state and surrounding regions. This patient population provides a rich learning environment for our fellowship to practice multidisciplinary, evidence based pain medicine with strong interventional focus.

The fellowship year is divided between UAMS and John L. McClellan Memorial Veterans Hospital with Dr. David Culver, who is board certified in physical medicine and rehabilitation as well as pain medicine. The Central Arkansas Veterans Healthcare system provides a truly multidisciplinary pain rehabilitation program where therapists, psychologists, and physicians work side by side. Another unique rotation is the neurological surgery rotation with Dr. Erika Petersen who is a national leader in functional and restorative neurosurgery.

Pain clinic doctors in clinic wearing protective clothing

Johnathan H. Goree, M.D., Heejung Choi, M.D., and Christopher Paul, M.D.

We have diverse and enthusiastic faculty members who have trained at several top institutions in the country, including Northwestern Memorial Hospital, Dartmouth Medical Center, Weill Cornell Hospital, Emory University Hospital, University of Alabama at Birmingham Hospital, Barnes-Jewish Hospital at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, and University of Texas Southwestern in Dallas. Dr. Johnathan Goree, who is our associate fellowship program director, leads Arkansas’ fight against the opioid epidemic as the Director of Opioid Stewardship and Dr. Christopher Paul, who is a core faculty member, is a leader in neuromodulation, performing almost 100 neuromodulation procedures a year. My research interests focus on interventional procedures including radiofrequency ablation and neuromodulation. I have won grants from the American Pain Society for pain associated with implantable pulse generators and published in Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine regarding radiofrequency ablation. Our faculty members have heavily invested in the development of this program and are enthusiastic teachers who are genuinely interested in helping fellows succeed.

We also have special educational initiatives including Arkansas Pain Symposium, Distinguished Lecture Series in Pain Medicine, hands-on cadaver lab training, and monthly journal clubs as well as weekly lecture series to cover core pain medicine topics. The Division of Chronic Pain also has multiple investigator-initiated and industry supported research projects that will lead to presentations and manuscripts through motivated fellows.

Work-life balance and the well-being of our trainees is important to us. Little Rock is a charming city with mild climate, Southern hospitality, and beautiful outdoors. Compared to major metropolitan areas, the cost of living is much more affordable and the post fellowship job prospects are bright.

I am confident that you will find a rich educational experience at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences as well as a welcoming home in Little Rock. I look forward to welcoming you to Little Rock in the future. Please feel free to reach out with any questions.



Heejung Choi, M.D.

Heejung Choi, M.D.

Multidisciplinary Pain Medicine Fellowship Program Director
Assistant Professor
Division of Chronic Pain
Department of Anesthesiology



Jonathan Goree, M.D.Johnathan Goree, M.D.

Multidisciplinary Pain Medicine Fellowship Associate Program Director
Assistant Professor
Director of Chronic Pain Division
Department of Anesthesiology